Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
October 11, 2014

Dr. David Dozier honored by Public Relations Society of America

Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award recognizes exemplary public affairs
WASHINGTON, D.C. (Oct. 11, 2014) — The Public Affairs and Government (PAG) Section of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) has selected Dr. David Dozier of San Diego State University’s School of Journalism and Media Studies as the 2014 recipient of the Lloyd. B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award.  Dozier accepted the award today in Washington, D.C. during the PRSA 2014 International Conference.
Recognized internationally as a scholar of public relations and communications management, Dozier is the author or co-author of more than 50 books, book chapters, articles and scholarly papers.  He heads the public relations emphasis at the school and is its founding graduate director. 

"I feel especially honored to receive the Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award,” said Dozier.  “I have had the distinct privilege to teach and conduct research with men and women that went on to serve with distinction in the U.S. Navy, Marine Corps and Air Force. Our graduate program for military public affairs officers would not be possible without the hard work of my colleagues in the School of Journalism & Media Studies at San Diego State University."
The Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award is given annually by the Public Affairs and Government Section to an exemplary individual who has used his or her public affairs skills to promote truth, demonstrated high standards of integrity and honesty in business dealings, and helped affect positive change within an organization.
 Dr. Dozier Accepts the Lloyd B. Dennis Distinguished Leadership Award
“Dr. Dozier is the consummate public affairs professional, sharing his knowledge with students and PR practitioners around the globe, and we’re very happy to honor him and bring further recognition to his outstanding contributions to our profession,” said PAG Chairman Brook DeWalt, APR+M, Fellow PRSA.
The award is named in honor of Lloyd B. Dennis, a public affairs executive, former speechwriter for the U.S. Secretary of the Treasury and former New York Times journalist, who died in 2003. Dennis served as Chairman of PAG for several years and was very active in the PRSA.
About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to “advance the profession and the professional,” PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 110 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 340 colleges and universities.
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.