Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
October 19, 2010

Dr. Kirk Hallahan Named PRSA 2010 Outstanding Educator of the Year

WASHINGTON, D.C. (Oct. 19, 2010) — Kirk Hallahan, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, was named the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) 2010 Outstanding Educator of the Year Award during the Tuesday general session at the PRSA 2010 International Conference in Washington, D.C. This award honors a PRSA member who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public relations education through college or university teaching.
“Two of my major professors and mentors were previous winners of this award — Scott M. Cutlip (1970) and Kenneth Owler Smith (1979),” said Hallahan after receiving his award. “I've been privileged to carry on their legacy, and all practitioners are indebted to educators like them who advance the profession through teaching, research and service.”
Hallahan is a professor in the Department of Journalism and Technical Communication at Colorado State University, Fort Collins. He was employed for 19 years in public relations, public affairs and marketing before embarking on a second career in university teaching and research.
Hallahan began teaching at the University of Wisconsin-Madison in 1991 while working toward his doctorate in mass communications. After three years on the faculty at the University of North Dakota, Grand Forks, he joined Colorado State in 1996. During his tenure, he developed of a new undergraduate course in digital promotion management, one of the first of its kind, addressing the use of Internet-based media. For five years, he also was faculty coordinator for the university’s professional master’s degree program in communications management.
“PRSA is proud to recognize Dr. Hallahan’s contributions to educating incoming professionals by naming him the 2010 Outstanding Educator of the Year,” said James J. Roop, APR, Fellow PRSA, chair of the PRSA Awards & Honors Committee and president of Roop & Co. “Dr. Hallahan has had a significant and positive impact in developing the next generation of successful public relations practitioners, and this honor speaks volumes about his achievements and dedication to the Society.”
Hallahan’s research has appeared in countless publications. He also has presented his work in numerous scholarly conference sessions, where he captured 10 top-paper honors in refereed competitions. In 2001, he was the recipient of the prestigious Jackson Jackson and Wagner Behavioral Science Prize, presented by the PRSA Foundation.
Hallahan is a member of the PRSA College of Fellows and a long-time adviser to the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA). He also has been a leader in the PRSA Educators Academy.
About the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
With more than 31,000 members, PRSA is the largest organization of public relations professionals and students. PRSA is comprised of 111 local Chapters organized into 10 geographic Districts; 16 Professional Interest Sections that focus on issues, trends and research relevant to specialized practice areas, such as technology, health care, financial communications, entertainment and sports, and travel tourism; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which has more than 300 Chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. PRSA is headquartered in New York.
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.