Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
September 22, 2010

PRSA Announces 2010 Individual Award Winners

Gold Anvil, Atlas, Patrick Jackson, Outstanding Educator and Jackson, Jackson & Wagner Award Winners to be Recognized at PRSA 2010 International Conference

YORK (Sept. 22, 2010) The Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) selected five senior public relations professionals as 2010 recipients of the Society’s prestigious national awards. The awards will be presented at the PRSA 2010 International Conference, Oct. 16-19 in Washington, D.C.
“We are excited to honor these exceptional individuals with PRSA’s most distinguished awards,” said PRSA Chair and CEO Gary McCormick, APR, Fellow PRSA. “Each honoree truly exemplifies excellence in the public relations industry, and the professional skills and standards that they have shown throughout their careers make them positive role models for all public relations professionals.”
The 2010 award winners, recognized for their career achievements and contributions to the public relations profession, are:
  •  Gold Anvil — Judith Phair, APR, Fellow PRSA, president, PhairAdvantage Communications. Considered to be the Society’s lifetime achievement award, the Gold Anvil is the Society’s highest individual award and is presented to a public relations practitioner whose accomplishments have made a major contribution to the profession.
  • Atlas Award for Lifetime Achievement in International Public Relations — John Paluszek, APR, Fellow PRSA, senior counsel, Ketchum. This award recognizes a public relations practitioner who has made extraordinary contributions to the practice and profession of public relations on a global scale over the span of his or her career.
  • Patrick Jackson Award for Distinguished Service to PRSA — Ferne Bonomi, APR, Fellow PRSA, principal and owner, Bonomi & Co. Named in honor of the late Patrick Jackson, APR, Fellow PRSA, this award recognizes a PRSA member who has significantly contributed to advancing PRSA nationally and at the Chapter levels, as well as furthered the Society by inspiring fellow practitioners professionally and personally.
  • Outstanding Educator — Kirk Hallahan, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, professor, Department of Journalism and Technical Communication, Colorado State University, Fort Collins.This award honors a PRSA member who has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public relations education through college or university teaching.
  • Jackson Jackson & Wagner Behavioral Science Prize (sponsored by the PRSA Foundation) – John Felton, APR, Fellow PRSA, president and CEO Emeritus, Institute for Public Relations Research. This award recognizes individual behavioral science researchers whose scholarly work enhances the understanding of the concepts and theories that contribute to the effectiveness of public relations practice.
“We are proud to recognize the honorees’ efforts and their contributions to the public relations profession,” said James J. Roop, APR, Fellow PRSA, chair of the PRSA Awards & Honors Committee and president of Roop & Co. “We recognize these individuals for demonstrating the highest standards of our profession, for their talent and for the high quality of their work throughout their careers."
Award recipients will be recognized during the Conference general sessions. This year’s Conference theme, “Powering Progress,” recognizes public relations’ role as a driver of business outcomes central to organizational progress, as well as captures the essence of Washington, D.C., as the seat of power and progress for our nation and the world.
About the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
With more than 31,000 members, PRSA is the largest organization of public relations professionals and students. PRSA is comprised of 111 local Chapters organized into 10 geographic Districts; 16 Professional Interest Sections that focus on issues, trends and research relevant to specialized practice areas, such as technology, health care, financial communications, entertainment and sports, and travel tourism; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which has more than 300 Chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and abroad. PRSA is headquartered in New York.

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.