Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
August 05, 2014

PRSA’s Nominating Committee Announces Nominees for 2015 Board of Director Positions

NEW YORK (Aug. 5, 2014) — The PRSA Nominating Committee today announced its nominees for Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) leadership positions for 2015.
The committee, led by 2012 PRSA Chair & CEO Gerard F. Corbett, APR, Fellow PRSA, selected nine candidates for officer and open board positions, completing the nomination process. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 11 at the PRSA 2014 International Conference in Washington, D.C.

“The PRSA Nominating Committee was presented with an overwhelming response to its recent call for nominations for leaders of the 2015 Board of Directors,” said Corbett. “The impressive slate of candidates included many of the industry’s leading practitioners who are both highly qualified and demonstrate great energy and enthusiasm at the prospect of leading the Society. With such an extraordinary pool of talent, industry knowledge and leadership capabilities, the Nominating Committee was blessed and challenged with the difficult task of selecting only a handful of pros to lead next year’s Board of Directors. We feel that those chosen will do an incredible job of fostering the core principles of PRSA, empowering our members and advancing the profession as a whole.”
The nominees for 2015 officer positions are: chair-elect, Mark W. McClennan, APR, senior vice president, social media services, MSLGROUP, Waltham, Mass.; treasurer, Jane E. Dvorak, APR, Fellow PRSA, president, JKD & Company, Inc., Lakewood, Colo.; and secretary, Marisa Vallbona, APR, Fellow PRSA, president, CIM Incorporated, San Diego, Calif.
The committee also nominated six individuals for open positions on the PRSA Board of Directors, as follows:
East Central District
Sonja Popp-Stahly, APR, director, digital media communications, Eli Lilly and Company, Indianapolis, Ind.
Mid-Atlantic District
Janet E. Kacskos, APR, Fellow PRSA, director of communications, Millersville University of Pennsylvania, Millersville, Pa.
Northeast District
JoAnn S. LeSage Nelson, APR, vice president, client services, Pierce Communications, Albany, N.Y.
Tri-State District
Lea-Ann O'Hare Germinder, APR, Fellow PRSA, president, Germinder & Associates, Inc., New York, N.Y.
Western District
Todd A. Cooley, APR, principal, The Todd Cooley Company, Santa Ana, Calif.
T. Garland Stansell, APR, chief communications officer, Children's of Alabama, Birmingham, Ala.
Candidates by Petition
Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws states: Nominations may also be made by petition by at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA Headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting (Sept. 11, 2014) of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.
The nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, will be presented at the PRSA Leadership Assembly Oct. 11, 2014, for approval.
About the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA)
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to “advance the profession and the professional,” PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 111 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 320 colleges and universities
#     #     #
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.