Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
August 05, 2013

PRSA’s Nominating Committee Selects Nominees for 2014 Leadership Positions

NEW YORK (Aug. 5, 2013) —The PRSA Nominating Committee today announced its nominees for Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) leadership positions for 2014.
Completing the nomination process, the committee, led by 2011 PRSA Chair & CEO Rosanna M. Fiske, APR, selected three candidates for officer and six candidates for director positions. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 26 at the PRSA International Conference in Philadelphia, Pa.
“These candidates demonstrate the diversity and richness of expertise in our Society and our profession,” said Fiske. “On behalf of the Nominating Committee, I am thrilled to present candidates who we know will continue to advance PRSA’s mission and strategic initiatives in the years to come.”
The nominees for 2014 officer positions are: chair-elect, Kathy Barbour, APR, corporate director, public relations and marketing, Baptist Health South Florida, Coral Gables, Fla.; treasurer, Mark W. McClennan, APR, senior vice president, Schwartz MSL, Waltham, Mass.; and secretary, Blake D. Lewis, III, APR, Fellow PRSA, principal and senior consultant, Lewis Public Relations, Dallas, Texas.
The committee also nominated six professionals for open PRSA Board of Directors positions, as follows:
Midwest District
Brian N. Lee, APR, president, Revelation PR, Advertising & Social Media, Madison, Wis.

North Pacific District
Ronele M. Dotson, APR, president, RKPR Inc., Reno, Nev.

Sunshine District
Bonnie P. Upright, APR, development director/principal, The Boselli Foundation/Upright Public Relations, LLC, Orange Park, Fla.

Kathleen Donohue Rennie, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, assistant professor/partner, Seton Hall University/The McGraw Group, Union, N.J.

Tracy A. Schario, APR, communications officer, The Pew Charitable Trusts, White Stone, Va.

Deborah A. Silverman, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, associate professor of communication, SUNY Buffalo State, Buffalo, N.Y.

Candidates by Petition
Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws states:  Nominations may also be made by petition by at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA Headquarters at least 30 days (that is, Sept. 26, 2013) prior to the annual meeting of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.
The nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, will be presented at the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 26, 2013, for approval.
About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to “advance the profession and the professional,” PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 112 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 320 colleges and universities.

< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.