Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
August 04, 2015

PRSA’s Nominating Committee Selects Nominees for 2016 Board of Directors

NEW YORK (Aug. 4, 2015) — The PRSA Nominating Committee today announced its selections for Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) leadership positions for 2016.
The committee, led by Mickey G. Nall, APR, Fellow PRSA, PRSA 2013 Chair and CEO, selected nine candidates for open Executive Committee and Board of Director positions. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Nov. 7 prior to the start of the PRSA International Conference in Atlanta, Ga. (Nov. 8-10).
“The PRSA Nominating Committee was presented with an impressive group of applicants eager to serve on the 2016 Board of Directors,” said Nall. “We were excited to have such a large group of experienced public relations practitioners and leaders to select from including, for the first time, non-APR applicants for select positions. We are confident that with the selected leadership nominees, the Society will have a bright and prosperous future.”
The nominees for 2016 officer positions are: chair-elect, Jane E. Dvorak, APR, Fellow PRSA, president, JKD & Company, Inc., Lakewood, Colo.; treasurer, Deborah A. Silverman, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA, associate professor of communication, SUNY Buffalo State, Buffalo, N.Y.; and secretary, Anthony W. D'Angelo, APR, Fellow PRSA, senior manager, communications, ITT Corporation, Seneca Falls, N.Y.
Additionally, the committee nominated six individuals for open positions on the PRSA Board of Directors, as follows:
Midwest District
Joyce A. Lofstrom, APR, senior director, corporate communications, HIMSS, Chicago, Ill.
North Pacific District
Ronele M. Dotson, APR, president, RAD Strategies Inc., Reno, Nev.
Southeast District
Amy T. Coward, APR, Fellow PRSA, vice president, public relations, Palmetto Health Foundation, Columbia, S.C.
Southwest District
Sam James Morrey Sims, APR, director of public relations & marketing, US Fleet Tracking, Edmond, Okla.
Sunshine District
Bonnie P. Upright, APR, senior vice president, Olympus Foundation Management, Orange Park, Fla.
Director At-Large
Don Hale, vice president for public relations and marketing communications, Georgia State University, Atlanta, Ga.
Candidates by Petition
Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws provides: Nominations may also be made by petition by at least 10 Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA Headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting (Nov. 7, 2015) of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.
The nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, will be presented at the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Nov. 7, 2015, for approval.
About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to “advance the profession and the professional,” PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 110 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 340 colleges and universities.
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.