Print Friendly Version Convert to PDF Convert to RTF
August 02, 2016

PRSA’s Nominating Committee Selects Nominees for 2017 Board of Directors

Record Number of Candidates Apply for National Board Service
NEW YORK (Aug. 2, 2016) — The PRSA Nominating Committee today announced its selections for Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) leadership positions for 2017.
The committee selected eight candidates for open Executive Committee and Board of Director positions. The nominees will stand for election by a vote of the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 22 prior to the start of the PRSA International Conference in Indianapolis, Ind. (Oct. 22-25).
“This year a record number of applicants stepped up for consideration for National Board service and the Nominating Committee was challenged to select among a tremendously capable pool of candidates,” said Joe Cohen, APR, PRSA 2014 Chair, who led the 2016 National Nominating Committee.  “The 2017 slate of candidates is a group of leaders who bring diverse perspectives and an incredible body of experience that crosses all sectors of the industry.  PRSA will have in place a tremendous leadership team that’s well-positioned to further elevate our efforts to advance the profession and the professional.”
The nominees for 2017 officer positions are: Chair-Elect Anthony W. D'Angelo, APR, Fellow PRSA, professor of practice, public relations, Syracuse University, Syracuse, N.Y.; Treasurer, Debra D. Peterson, APR, vice president, external communications and community relations, CenturyLink, New Century, Kan.; and Secretary, T. Garland Stansell, APR, chief communications officer, Children's of Alabama, Birmingham, Ala.
Additionally, the committee nominated five individuals for open positions for the PRSA Board of Directors, as follows:
Director At-Large
Robert T. Hastings, Jr., APR+M, Fellow PRSA, executive vice president, communications & government affairs, chief of staff, Bell Helicopter, Fort Worth, Texas

Tri-State District
Andrew McCaskill, APR, senior vice president, global communications, Nielsen, New York, N.Y.

East Central District
Richard J Batyko, APR, Fellow PRSA, senior vice president, marketing, communications & development, Team NEO, Medina, Ohio

Western District
Michelle Olson, APR, general manager, Scottsdale office, Fingerpaint, Scottsdale, Ariz.

Northeast District
Jo Ann S. LeSage Nelson, APR, vice president, client services, Pierce Communications, Albany, N.Y.

Mid-Atlantic District
The Nominating Committee did not put forth a candidate to fill the open Mid-Atlantic District seat. Qualified candidates from the Mid-Atlantic District are invited to run from the floor at the Leadership Assembly on October 22[1].  Candidates may enter their names on the ballot by filing a petition with the secretary of PRSA no later than Thursday, September 22.  The petition must be signed by at least ten 2016 Assembly delegates. For more information on how you can utilize a petition to get on the ballot, please email
The nominees, along with any petitioning candidates, will be presented at the PRSA Leadership Assembly on Oct. 22, 2016, for approval.
About the Public Relations Society of America
PRSA is the largest professional organization serving the U.S. public relations community. With a mission to “advance the profession and the professional,” PRSA provides news and information, thought leadership, continuing education and networking opportunities; sets standards of professional excellence and ethical conduct; and advocates for the business value of public relations and greater diversity among public relations professionals. Based in New York, PRSA comprises 111 local Chapters; 14 Professional Interest Sections that focus on specific industries and practice areas; and the Public Relations Student Society of America (PRSSA), which is active at more than 340 colleges and universities.
[1] Article VII, Section 5 of the PRSA Bylaws provides: Nominations may also be made by petition by at least ten Leadership Assembly delegates and filed with the secretary of the Society at the PRSA Headquarters at least 30 days prior to the annual meeting (Oct. 22, 2016) of the Leadership Assembly. Immediately upon receipt of any such nominations, the secretary shall send a notice of such nominations to all members.
Laurent Lawrence
phone: 212.460.1452
< back

You must be logged in to view this item.

This area is reserved for members of the news media. If you qualify, please update your user profile and check the box marked "Check here to register as an accredited member of the news media". Please include any notes in the "Supporting information for media credentials" box. We will notify you of your status via e-mail in one business day.